

February 21, 2025

The Honorable Bill Cassidy
Chairman
Senate Committee on Health, Education,
Labor & Pensions
United States Senate
455 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Bernie Sanders
Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Health, Education,
Labor & Pensions
United States Senate
332 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chairman Cassidy, Ranking Member Sanders, and Members of the Committee:

As the nation's oldest small business advocacy organization, representing our membership of more than 65,000 and the 70+ million owners and employees that make up the U.S. small business sector, we are writing to express our strong support for the nomination of The Honorable Lori Chavez-DeRemer, of Oregon, to be United States Secretary of Labor.

Small companies represent more than 99 percent of all businesses in the United States, and we collectively employ nearly half of the nation's workforce. In the small business community, we recognize that our employees are at the heart of everything we do. We work every day to ensure that main street employees are proud to go to work, and that small companies are able to remain employers of choice: offering competitive, affordable, and flexible benefits and compensation.

After much consideration, and productive and engaging conversations with the nominee, we believe that Hon. Chavez-DeRemer is an excellent candidate to lead the Department of Labor. Coming from a small business background, she understands exactly what main street businesses across America need to keep their local communities thriving, and to ensure American workers and businesses are able to compete and win on the world stage. We strongly urge you to advance her nomination out of Committee, and confirm her before the full Senate.

Sincerely,

Todd McCracken President & CEO

National Small Business Association

Reed Westcott

Executive Director, Small Business Exporters Association

cc: The Honorable Rand Paul
The Honorable Susan Collins
The Honorable Lisa Murkowski
The Honorable Markwayne Mullin
The Honorable Roger Marshall
The Honorable Tim Scott

The Honorable Josh Hawley
The Honorable Tommy Tuberville

The Honorable Jim Banks
The Honorable John Husted
The Honorable Ashley Moody

The Honorable Patty Murray
The Honorable Tammy Baldwin
The Honorable Chris Murphy
The Honorable Tim Kaine
The Honorable Maggie Hassan
The Honorable John Hickenlooper

The Honorable Ed Markey The Honorable Andy Kim

The Honorable Lisa Blunt Rochester The Honorable Angela Alsobrooks