

March 10, 2025

The Honorable Joni Ernst Chair Senate Committee on Small Business & Entrepreneurship United States Senate 260 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Ed Markey
Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Small Business &
Entrepreneurship
United States Senate
255 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Chair Ernst, Ranking Member Markey, and Members of the Committee:

As the nation's oldest small business advocacy organization, representing our membership of more than 65,000 and the 70+ million owners and employees that make up the U.S. small business sector, we are writing to express our strong support for the nomination of William Briggs, of Texas, to be Deputy Administrator of the Small Business Administration (SBA).

The SBA plays a pivotal role in helping ensure that small businesses—which represent more than 99 percent of all companies operating in the United States and employ roughly half the nation's workforce—have access to the resources, capital, and support they need to start, grow, and thrive in an increasingly competitive global economy.

Mr. Briggs brings a wealth of experience and a deep understanding of the challenges and opportunities facing America's small businesses. His tenure as Acting Associate Administrator in the SBA's Office of Capital Access, as well as his leadership in public policy and financial services, have demonstrated his commitment to the small businesses community and make him uniquely qualified to serve as Deputy Administrator.

NSBA is confident that Mr. Briggs will bring the vision, leadership, and dedication necessary to strengthen the SBA's mission and support America's small businesses. We respectfully urge you to advance his nomination out of Committee and confirm him before the full Senate.

Sincerely,

Todd McCracken President & CEO

National Small Business Association

Reed Westcott Executive Director

Small Business Exporters Association

March 10, 2025 Page 2

cc: The Honorable James Risch
The Honorable Rand Paul
The Honorable Tim Scott
The Honorable Todd Young
The Honorable Josh Hawley
The Honorable Ted Budd
The Honorable John Curtis
The Honorable Jim Justice
The Honorable John Husted

The Honorable Maria Cantwell
The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen
The Honorable Cory Booker
The Honorable Chris Coons
The Honorable Mazie Hirono
The Honorable Jacky Rosen
The Honorable John Hickenlooper
The Honorable Adam Schiff